Spotlights (LSFF Special) - January 2013

Spotlights is a bi-monthly short film night run by Whirlygig Cinema that offers new and established filmmakers the chance to screen a portfolio of work in front of a live audience. Each event features films and talks by three filmmakers, providing a gripping insight into their work whilst traversing a range of styles and genres.

Screening in the cosy basement bar of Trangallan Restaurant in Newington Green, Spotlights is fast becoming a regular meeting place for filmmakers and film-lovers, showcasing hand-picked film talent in a relaxed and intimate environment.

In a special collaboration with the 10th London Short Film Festival, Whirlygig Cinema will take over Trangallan for three nights to welcome filmmakers who worked on the nine films that have won the festival over the course of its decade-long history. Directors, cinematographers and other film creatives will showcase these films within the context of their own work and at the end of each night there will a chance to ask them questions in a Q&A.

Spotlights will take place on 8th, 9th and 10th January. Doors 7pm. Tickets £4, or £10 for 3 nights (special online price). Booking is essential due to limited capacity.

Venue: Trangallan, 61 Newington Green, London, N16 9PX

The filmmakers appearing are:

Tuesday 8th January
Nick Jordan and Jacob Cartwright - directors of FURY (Winner of LSFF 2004)
Tom Geens - director of YOU'RE THE STRANGER HERE (Winner of LSFF 2010)
Damien Pawle - cinematographer for COMPULSION (Dir. Andrew McVicar. Winner of LSFF 2012)

Full programme for Tuesday

Wednesday 9th January
Jes Benstock - director of ORDERS OF LOVE (Winner of LSFF 2005)
Chris Allen - director of IN PASSING (Winner of LSFF 2006)
David Liddell - cinematographer for PARIS/SEXY (Dir. Ruth Paxton. Winner of LSFF 2011)

Full programme for Wednesday

Thursday 10th January
Sarah Wood - director of I WANT TO BE A SECRETARY (Winner of LSFF 2007)
Scott Graham - director of SHELL (Winner of LSFF 2008)
Stewart Le Marechal - producer of SEPTEMBER (Dir. Esther May Campbell. Winner of LSFF 2009)

Full programme for Thursday

More info Buy tickets